Saturday, 11 April 2009

Moonlight by Rachel Hawthorne

From Amazon: Kayla is the nature lover, the all-American beauty who can't understand why she's so drawn to distant, brooding Lucas. Adopted as a young child, she has no way of knowing that she's inherited a terrifying—and thrilling—gene that will change her life forever. Lucas is dangerous, gorgeous . . . and a werewolf. As leader of the Dark Guardians, shape-shifters who gather deep within the state park, he has sworn to protect his pack. As Lucas and Kayla struggle with their feelings for each other, a greater danger lurks: humans have discovered the Dark Guardians and are planning their destruction. Kayla must choose between the life she knows and the love she feels certain is her destiny.

Moonlight is the first book in the Dark Guardian series; a supernatural romance centred around a pack of shapeshifting werewolves.

It's light and easy to read, with an interesting but slightly predictable plot. The main characters are engaging and mysterious, especially tall, dark and handsome Lucas. His relationship with Kayla is, for the most part, believeable, though I did feel that their declaration of feelings came a bit too soon. Still, I think it was necessary for the story, and it didn't bother me while I was reading it. All the secondary characters are instantly likeable, and the plot moves at a speed that will keep you glued to the pages until you finish it.

I love the idea of the shifters (wolves), statics (humans) and Dark Guardians (protectors), as well as the new take on the lycanthrope legend. It's a quick and enjoyable read, and one that I think will appeal to fans of Twilight and Wicked Lovely. I can't wait to see what happens in Full Moon, which is set for a US release in June.

6 comments:

Liyana said...

This is on my must-read list. Thanks for the review!

Mishel said...

Even though it sounds a bit predictable I'm still looking forward to reading this.

So Many Books, So Little Time said...

If it will appeal to fans of Twilight and Wicked Lovely then I better read it!

Thao said...

Ohh I so want this. I love werewolves than anything. Intriguing cover too. Thanks for the review Jenny ^^

cupcakewitch said...

The cover looks like Wicked Lovely and the name is like "Twilight" !

Chicklish said...

Interesting review - thanks!