Wednesday, 22 April 2009

Waiting On Wednesday: The Demon's Lexicon

Waiting on Wednesday idea from Jill at Breaking the Spine.

-----

The Demon's Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan

* Published by: Simon & Schuster
* Format: Hardcover (US), Paperback (UK)
* Release Date:
June 1st, 2009 (UK), June 2nd, 2009 (US)
* On Amazon: here.

From Amazon:
Nick and his brother, Alan, have spent their lives on the run from magic. Their father was murdered, and their mother was driven mad by magicians and the demons who give them power. The magicians are hunting the Ryves family for a charm that Nick's mother stole -- a charm that keeps her alive -- and they want it badly enough to kill again.

Danger draws even closer when a brother and sister come to the Ryves family for help. The boy wears a demon's mark, a sign of death that almost nothing can erase...and when Alan also gets marked by a demon, Nick is desperate to save him. The only way to do that is to kill one of the magicians they have been hiding from for so long. Ensnared in a deadly game of cat and mouse, Nick starts to suspect that his brother is telling him lie after lie about their past. As the magicians' Circle closes in on their family, Nick uncovers the secret that could destroy them all.

I can't wait to read this! My friend at work just finished a proof/ARC copy, and said it's perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments. Roll on June!

6 comments:

So Many Books, So Little Time said...

Well, I'm a fan of The Mortal Instruments so I've got to read it really!

Reverie said...

this book really does look good. and the cover's yummy

Carrie said...

I'm definitely adding this one to my list. Great pick!!

Fantastic Book Review said...

I read the excerpt for this book a few months ago and thought it would be a great book. I had to add it to my list.

Kate said...

This book looks really good. Cool cover as well :)

Laina said...

Anyone else think the guy on the cover is really hot?