Wednesday, 5 August 2009

How Not to Shop by Carmen Reid

From Amazon: Personal shopper Annie Valentine is about to hit the big time: presenting a glamorous TV makeover series! But too late, Annie discovers this is TV on a shoestring - her budget is zip. Can she make do with Primark when all she wants is Prada? While Annie performs miracles with the minimum, boyfriend Ed is left at home with one son (deeply green), one daughter (deeply teen) and one sexy, Russian blonde (don't ask). He wants more together-time. He wants a dog. He may even want...a baby! But could non-stop, fame-seeking Annie ever handle that?

I really enjoyed How Not to Shop. It was fun, light, and laced with Reid's trademark humour. Although it's the third in the adult Personal Shopper series, it stands on its own very well, and you don't have to have read the previous books to follow the story.

Annie was a brilliant, headstrong character, trying to juggle full time work, a family and a shopping addiction. Through leaving her job of nine years, and having the confidence to try something different, she learns that change can indeed be a good thing. Boyfriend Ed was my favourite character, and his selfless, supportive personality made him the perfect man.

I loved reading about adult life, and all the problems that accompany teenagers and growing up. It was a nice change to read about it from a parent's perspective, and to see how much they go through for their children. The plot was interesting and realistic, with family taking centre stage for the majority of the book. Even though work is important, family and friends always come first, and Reid hammers this point home in the true style of a wife and mother.

How Not to Shop is an enjoyable read from start to finish, and is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella's Shopaholic series. Readers of intelligent, heartwarming chick-lit will love this, and if you haven't yet been introduced to Carmen Reid, what are you waiting for?

9 comments:

So Many Books, So Little Time said...

Great review! I love a bit of chick-lit every now and then! This sounds great!

Sara from DBR said...

Nice review!! Sounds reaaally good!

TruBlu93 said...

I'm not much into adult fiction but from this review, I'm liking what I see.

Amy said...

Great review! This sounds like a very cool read.

stargirlreads said...

Sounds Cute :)

endlessbooks said...

Ooh, it definitely sounds like a great book!

Jillian said...

This looks like a fun book! I'll have to add it to my ever-growing reading list.

Another fun book readers might like is called 'Knickles and Dimes'. It has hilarious characters and a great story; I'd recommend it!

Anyway, thanks for the review!

Chloe @ chicklitreviews said...

I really enjoyed this too :) Nice review!

Cheap Books Online said...

Very explainatory review. Thanks for that. I enjoyed reading it.