Wednesday, 2 September 2009

Waiting On Wednesday: The Sky Is Everywhere

Waiting on Wednesday idea from Jill at Breaking the Spine.

-----

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

* Published by: Dial (US), Walker (UK)
* Format: Hardcover
* Release Date:
March 9th, 2010 (US), 2010 (UK)
* On Amazon: here.

From Amazon: Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life—and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding. This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

I know this one isn't out for a while, but I really like the sound of it, and the cover's lovely! I read in The Bookseller that Walker UK will be publishing it next year too, but I can't remember the date -- I think it was around May time. I hope they keep the same cover!

9 comments:

Amy said...

This sounds and the cover is really cool.

Luisa said...

Wow, this sounds a little bit Elizabeth Scott-ish too - fantastic! Great to hear it will be out in the UK. Thanks for highlighting it!

Book Chick City said...

This does sound good, and I agree, the cover is lovely :)

So Many Books, So Little Time said...

This has been on my wishlist for a while now so I'm glad it's being published over here. And I hope they keep the cover, too!

Michelle said...

Another book I'm really eager for. It sounds super good. :)

Thao said...

I can't stop looking at this book. It's gorgeous!

I want to read that said...

This sounds really good - adding it to wishlist right now!

bookalicious said...

Sounds like a great read!

Sab H. said...

This sound good!!