Thursday, 8 April 2010

Review: Young, Loaded & Fabulous - Kiss & Break Up by Kate Kingsley

Publisher: Headline
Format: Paperback
Released: April 1st, 2010
Grade rating: B+

Amazon summary:

Half term may be over but the chaos has just begun. Mr Logan has run off and eloped with Miss Sharkreve leaving the Lower Sixth with a new housemistress - the tyrannical, catty Mrs Dicks. And with the rules getting tighter at St Cecilia's the students are getting way more creative in finding ways to break them - especially as they're all feeling a bit frisky. As tensions reach an explosive high, a pool party at Rando's country estate should be just the thing to cool everyone down. Or will it push the temperature up a notch?


Kiss & Break Up is the third book in the Young, Loaded & Fabulous series, and I think it's the best so far. The back cover really isn't lying when it says temperatures will rise, and it's pretty clear from the first couple of chapters that this instalment is by far the most risqué.

Alice and Tally still rule St. Cecilia's girls boarding school, and in turn have all the richest, hottest London boys chasing after them. These boys don't come without their fair share of drama, though, and as always the girls are left to make the big decisions and deal with the fallout.

Kiss & Break Up is full of sex, lies and revelations, and it makes for a cracking read. Think Gossip Girl's wealthy Upper East Siders living in London, and you get the general gist of the plot: it's all about who rules, who's sleeping with who and who's sporting the latest designer labels. Sometimes I do feel that the plot moves a bit too slowly, but I think that's because it's very character driven, and takes its time getting to know everyone inside out.

I really enjoy this series, and I can't wait for the next book, Too Cruel For School. It's the perfect series for fans of Gossip Girl, It Girl and Private, and is chock-full of shocks and scandal. Love it!


Luisa at Chicklish said...

I love this series, and this is my favourite of the series so far. Can't wait for the next one. Thanks for a great review!

kate.o.d said...

so if you loved it, why only the b+?

Andrea said...

Sounds like something I would like.

Dot said...

I love Gossip Girl so I may have to give this series a try!

prophecygirl said...

Kate - I really enjoyed it, but it wasn't an OMG WOW book, if that makes any sense. Gave it 4/5 stars on Goodreads :)

So Many Books, So Little Time said...

I've really got to give this series a go. It sounds so much fun!

Becky said...

I confess I got this for review and asked my sister to read it and write a guest review. Truth be told although I am morphing as a reader, this seemed like a step too far. Sounds great for fans of Private or as you say Gossip Girl.

Dwayne said...

Funny how I just saw this at the library today! :)

Kate Evangelista said...

It's such a pretty, pink, chic book.

kate.o.d said...

cool. thanks for clarifying. great blog! kate