Monday, 10 May 2010

Review: Lottie Biggs is (Not) Desperate by Hayley Long

Publisher: Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Released: May 7th, 2010
Grade rating: B-/B

Amazon summary:

Lottie Biggs is recovering from her mental disorder of a reasonably significant nature with the help of her counsellor, who rather helpfully looks like Johnny Depp. Things are looking up - her hair is an excellent shade of black, she has a Saturday job in a hairdresser and Gareth Stingecombe and his manly thighs are still the love of her life. When Gareth undoes his trousers to show Lottie a fetching bruise on one of the aforementioned thighs, she comes to the realisation that, unlike everyone else she knows, she is A TOTAL UTTER VIRGIN. But how can she get any sort of experience when her boyfriend is doggedly, stubbornly and infuriatingly determined to preserve his energies for the rugby field?


This is the second book in the Lottie Biggs series, and is my favourite of the two. Gone are the serious issues I wasn't keen on in the first book, and in their place is a virginity dilemma, a new job and a rugby playing boyfriend with colossal thighs.

My favourite parts of these books, and Hayley Long's writing, is the humour and pop culture references. Every page provides a laugh, whether it be talking about Lottie's observations or her experiences with Gareth. She's a sarcastic narrator, and definitely has a hilarious way with words. Her new counsellor looks like Johnny Depp, which is beyond cool. If I knew someone like that, I think I'd be at his office all day!

Long's usual diagrams and drawings accompany Lottie's text, and it gives the novel an interactive feel, without making it the main attarction. It makes for a fun read, and provides it with a bit of an individual flair. Although I did enjoy Lottie Biggs is (Not) Desperate more that the first book, i'm still not clicking with this series as much as I'd like to. I don't know what it is, but something just isn't grabbing my attention. I'll still be reading the next book, though, because I do think it's a series worth sticking with.

Fans of Louise Rennison and Joanna Nadin should definitely give Hayley Long a go, as their books are all similar in style and format. You'll be guaranteed a laugh!


I Want To Read That said...

Sounds like it could be a fun read. Do you think I can read this one without reading the first?

prophecygirl said...

Yep, definitely. I think it would be fine read as a standalone :)

So Many Books, So Little Time said...

I'd go to a counsellor if he looked like Johnny Depp! Hopefully you'll like the next book more.

Luisa at Chicklish said...

I love the sound of these books! Thanks for the very interesting review.

Andrea said...

It sounds like a cool book!

Carla said...

This sounds like such a fun book!! And does the counsellor look like Johnny Depp in Pirates of the Caribean? Because if so then I am there baby!

Sasha said...

I remember really liking the pictures in the first LB! It was good but I'm hoping to like this one better :) Thanks for the review :D

Rhiana said...

Ah, Johnny Depp lookalikey...I like the sound of this one!

Laura said...


I work for Macmillan, the publishers of the fab LOTTIE BIGGS books. We are in the process of setting up a forum called Mykindabook. At the moment we are at but will be moving on to our proper website in August. LOTTIE BIGGS IS (NOT) DESPERATE is our book of the month for May and I have some free copies to give away. If you email your name and address to I'll send you a copy!