Thursday, 20 May 2010

Review: Werewolf Versus Dragon by The Beastly Boys


Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Format: Paperback
Released: May 27th, 2010
Grade rating: B/B+


Amazon summary:

Ulf is an orphaned werewolf who has lived all his life at Farraway Hall, the home of the RSPCB and a sanctuary for rare and endangered beasts. When a dead dragon arrives and a ghost reveals a dark secret, Ulf sets out to investigate, uncovering a plot by the world's most villainous beast hunter to resurrect the cruel sport of dragon fighting.

Review:

Werewolf Versus Dragon is the first book in the Beastly Business series, which is being republished and repackaged throughout the year. It's a great read for kids, and would be perfect for fans of Tommy Donbavand's Scream Street series. There aren't quite as many laughs, but there are some brilliant characters and some equally brilliant beasts!

The RSPCB is an acronym for The Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Beasts. It's a massive conservation-type area where injured beasts are rehabilitated before being released back into the wild, and reminded me of a less scary Jurassic Park. Beasts living under the care of the RSPCB include werewolves, fairies, gargoyles, dragons and phoenixes. There are also trolls and vampire owls, which I would love to see more of.

The characters of Werewolf Versus Dragon are a lot of fun to read about, and I think I've finally settled on a favourite: Druce the gargoyle. He provides much of the book's humour, and also has the ability to turn to stone. Personally, I think that's cool. I also like Tiani the fairy and werewolf Ulf, who together make a great team when it comes to getting rid of the bad guy.

The pacing is fast, the plot adventurous and the writing entertaining. I would have liked more humour in the dialogue, though I did laugh at a lot of the full page artwork, which mostly made up for that. I'm looking forward to reading more of these new editions of the series, especially book 4, The Jungle Vampire. I wonder if the vampire owls will make an appearance?

4 comments:

Becky said...

Hee hee! This is library must buy for sure. It sounds so funny. I'm thinking Beast Quest fans will love it. Thanks for sharing Jenny!

Luisa at Chicklish said...

Thanks for the detailed review! My son's enjoying it so far.

asamum said...

Great, my 9 year old will love this series, she is a big fan of the scream street series. Thanks for the review

So Many Books, So Little Time said...

Great review! I love the sound of Druce the gargoyle and all of the fantasical creatures of the RSPCB.