Monday, 2 September 2013

Review: Fangs Vampire Spy - Operation: Golden Bum by Tommy Donbavand

Publisher: Walker Books
Format: Paperback
Released: September 5th, 2013
Rating: 8/10

Amazon summary:

Special Agent Fangs Enigma and his sidekick, werewolf Agent Puppy Brown, were recruited by secret intelligence agency MP1 (Monster Protection, 1st division) to stop the world’s super(natural) villains and monster criminals from realizing their evil plans. In Operation: Golden Bum, Agents Fangs and Brown are drafted in to investigate a string of high-profile robberies. The presence of an unidentifiable foul smell at all of the crime scenes leads MP1 to suspect that this is no ordinary robber but one with magical abilities. Can the world’s greatest vampire spy and his sidekick sniff out the thief before he puts his stinker of a plan into action? 


Fangs Vampire Spy is Tommy Donbavand's brilliant new children's series for age 7+.  Just like his fantastic Scream Street series, of which I'm a big fan, Fangs Vampire Spy is funny, clever and full of supernatural creatures. Honestly, what more could you want?!

Operation: Golden Bum is the first book in the series and introduces Special Agent Fangs Enigma and his sidekick, werewolf Puppy Brown. They work for MP1 (Monster Protection, First Unit), an organisation created solely to keep the world's naughty supernatural people in check. Think MI5 but with monsters. Their first nemesis is The Great Disgusto who has, well, quite a unique power, shall we say. A power any sane person would stay well away from!

This is book is packed full of Tommy Donbavand's signature jokes and play on words, not to mention it's a great homage to the mighty James Bond. My favourite character is Hip Hop, a gnome with a penchant for rapping. I also like Cube, MP1's resident gadget man who just happens to have a very square head.

I wasn't sure how Mr. Donbavand could follow up his brilliant Scream Street series, but he's done it. There are six Fangs Vampire Spy books due to be published this year, the second of which is titled Codename: The Tickler and is available now. Can't wait to read it!

No comments: