Thursday, 9 January 2014

Review: Sneaking Candy by Lisa Burstein


Publisher: Entangled Embrace
Format: eBook
Released: December 9th, 2013
Rating: 6/10


Amazon summary:

All I ever wanted was to make a name for myself as Candice Salinas, creative writing grad student at the University of Miami. Of course, secretly I already have made a name for myself: as Candy Sloane, self-published erotic romance writer. Though thrilled that my books are selling and I have actual fans, if anyone at UM found out, I could lose my scholarship…and the respect of my faculty advisor, grade-A-asshole Professor Dylan. Enter James Walker, super-hot local barista and—surprise!—my student. Even though I know a relationship is totally off-limits, I can’t stop myself from sneaking around with James, taking a few cues from my own erotic writing…if you catch my drift. Candy’s showing her stripes for the first time in my real life, and I’ve never had so much fun. But when the sugar high fades, can my secrets stay under wraps? 

Review: 

Sneaking Candy is a quick read that will appeal to fans of YA and New Adult books. It's not one of the best NA titles I've read, but it's entertaining and easy to get lost in. It's written in first person which is my favourite way to tell a story, though main character Candice often refers to herself in the third person as her romance-writing alter-ego Candy. It's a bit odd, as if she's got a split personality. It irked me but it's something I found myself getting used to in the end.

This book explores a teacher/student relationship, with Candice being the teacher in the scenario and James being the student. There's hardly any difference in age because of Candice's position as a TA, and the topic is approached with a surprising amount of maturity and an understanding of where each person legally stands. I liked their relationship; it's mostly simple and straightforward, except when a secret or two is revealed.

Candice is a secret writer of romance/erotica books, and at first I thought the author really disliked that genre, because of the way she described it and indeed anyone writing it. As the book progressed, I realised she was actually defending it, saying it's okay to read and write erotic romance, and that no literature is bad literature. Candice ends up being proud of what she does, rather than hiding it away and hoping no-one ever finds out.

Sneaking Candy is a fun book, with interesting characters and a decent amount of development. It's always good to read about a character with a different hobby, in this case writing romance, as it sets them apart from everyone else. I don't think there are enough books about protagonists that write and create their own stories - can we have more please?

No comments: