Friday, 7 March 2014

Blog Tour - Review: Deeper by Robin York


Publisher: Piatkus
Format: Paperback / eBook
Released: March 6th, 2014
Rating: 7/10


Amazon summary:

When Caroline Piasecki's ex-boyfriend posts their sex pictures on the internet, it destroys her reputation as a nice college girl. Suddenly her once-promising future doesn't look so bright. Caroline tries to make the pictures disappear; hoping time will bury her shame. Then a guy she barely knows rises to her defence and punches her ex to the ground. West Leavitt is the last person Caroline needs in her life. Everyone knows he's shady. Still, Caroline is drawn to his confidence and swagger - even after promising her dad she'll keep her distance. On late, sleepless nights, Caroline starts wandering into the bakery where West works. They hang out, they talk, they listen. Though Caroline and West tell each other they're 'just friends,' their feelings intensify until it becomes impossible to pretend. The more complicated her relationship with West gets, the harder Caroline has to struggle to discover what she wants for herself - and the easier it becomes to find the courage she needs to fight back against the people who would judge her. When all seems lost, sometimes the only place to go is deeper.

Review:

Deeper is Robin York's New Adult debut and is a good addition to the genre. It's about Caroline, a nineteen-year-old girl dealing with the aftermath of what I believe is called 'revenge porn', after her ex-boyfriend circulates explicit pictures of her online. It's about how Caroline deals with this blatant betrayal of trust, and how she rebuilds her reputation and relationships after something that could quite easily have ruined her life.

Before reading Deeper I'd never come across the term 'revenge porn' before. I'd heard of people uploading photos of people in compromising positions, but I didn't realise it was a thing. It's horrible that people actually do that, especially to someone they supposedly cared about at one point. I'm sure this is something many girls have unfortunately experienced, and it's good that Robin York has highlighted it here in Deeper. Maybe it will help someone deal with being in a similar position to Caroline, or maybe it will just help someone realise they're not alone. Either way, it's an important topic to touch on when it comes to writing for late teens and twenty-something's.

Caroline is a strong character, choosing to face up to her cyber bullies and hold her head high. She continues attending college, she doesn't lock herself away in shame and instead tries to deal with it and her ex-boyfriend herself. Her relationship with West is an important one that comes at just the right time, and together they make quite a formidable team. I liked both of them for different reasons, though West didn't make me swoon as much as I thought he would. I didn't click with him to the extent that other readers have, though he's an interesting character with many emotional layers waiting to be peeled away. And he is quite hot!

The overall plot of Deeper kept me hooked for most of the book, though for me it was a tad too explicit where the sex scenes are concerned. I like my romance to be a bit more subtle, though I know what I sign on for when I read NA books so I can't really complain too much. It's just not to my personal tastes, which also goes for some of the language used throughout. This one definitely isn't for younger readers, though most of it does serve a purpose where the plot is concerned.

Overall, I enjoyed Deeper and will be interested to see where the sequel takes Caroline and West. Harder is published in June this year and promises to be just as addictive as Deeper - I'm looking forward to seeing what happens after the end of this first book. Nothing is ever smooth sailing for Caroline and West! Deeper is an addictive, pulse-pounding book perfect for fans of J. Lynn and J.A. Redmerski - if you like those two, you'll love Robin York!


Please note: this book is not suitable for younger readers!


~


See the UK blog tour poster here.

No comments: