Monday, 24 March 2014

Review: All My Facebook Friends Are Ferrets by J. A. Buckle


Publisher: Curious Fox
Format: Paperback / eBook
Released: January 30th, 2014
Rating: 7.5/10


Amazon summary:

Fifteen-year-old Josh fantasises about becoming a death metal guitarist complete with tattoos, piercings and hoards of adoring fans. But it’s not easy when his super-strict mom won’t let him grow his hair! Luckily Josh has a way of coping with life’s setbacks; it’s only a diary, but it contains all Josh’s hopes, dreams and frustrations (not to mention some great ideas for band names and lyrics!). There’s a lot he wants to get done before his 16th birthday, but things never turn out quite like he plans… What Josh doesn’t know is that his mother also kept a diary, back about the time he was born, and a secret in there holds the key to Josh’s life becoming a whole lot more metal. 

Review:

This book couldn't be anything but funny with a title like Half My Facebook Friends Are Ferrets. Even before I started reading it I knew it would have me in stitches, and I wasn't wrong - I laughed a lot at poor Josh's expense!

Half My Facebook Friends Are Ferrets is written in diary form which, as I say all the time, is my favourite format when it comes to humorous books. It allows for snappy, fast entries and a lot of dry humour, while also being a way to have unlimited access to a person's innermost thoughts, feelings and embarrassing moments. In the end I feel like I know the character better, and that was certainly the case with Josh.

Josh loves ferrets (he has one for a pet), guitars, death metal and his three best friends (though he'd never admit it). He and Ozzy the ferret live with his mum and sister, they have financial difficulties that his mum never stops talking about and his dad died when he was very little. It's the life of a typical fifteen-year-old really, although I don't come across too many fictional boys who are so into ferrets. Ozzy made me laugh on more than one occasion, with his constant escaping and penchant for biting, though he's not quite convinced me to get one for myself.

This book chronicles Josh's final six months of being fifteen. He has a list he wants to tick off by then, exams to be revising for, girls to chase and secrets to find out. It's quite hectic when you look at it, but he takes most of it in his stride and behaves like any hormonal boy does, often with hilarious consequences. The best way to describe him is like a male, slightly less hormonal Georgia Nicolson with a ferret instead of a Scottish Wildcat. Fun!

Half My Facebook Friends Are Ferrets is a little gem of a book that I'm glad I got the chance to read. It's an updated Adrian Mole, perfect for fans of Boys Don't Knit by T.S. Easton and the Kelly Ann series by Liz Rettig. I hope there's a sequel in the works as I'd love to know what happens to Josh when he hits college - my guess is that it'll be like The Inbetweeners with ferrets. Fingers crossed we'll find out!

No comments: