Tuesday, 10 June 2014

Blog Tour: Review - Fall From India Place by Samantha Young


Publisher: Piatkus
Format: Paperback / eBook
Released: June 3rd, 2014
Rating: 8/10


Amazon summary:

When Hannah Nichols last saw Marco D'Alessandro five long years ago, he broke her heart. The bad boy with a hidden sweet side was the only guy Hannah ever loved-and the only man she's ever been with. After one intense night of giving in to temptation, Marco took off, leaving Scotland and Hannah behind. Shattered by the consequences of their night together, Hannah has never truly moved on. Leaving Hannah was the biggest mistake of Marco's life-something he has deeply regretted for years. So when fate reunites them, he refuses to let her go without a fight. Determined to make her his, Marco pursues Hannah, reminding her of all the reasons they're meant to be together . . . But just when Marco thinks they're committed to a future together, Hannah makes a discovery that unearths the secret pain she's been hiding from him-a secret that could tear them apart before they have a real chance to start over again . . .

Review:

Fall From India Place is Samantha Young's fourth book, the first I've read, and is a fantastic New Adult novel sure to appeal to fans of J. A. Redmerski and Robin York. It's addictive and compelling, even though at first I wasn't sure I'd like it. How wrong I was!

As soon as I fully got into Hannah and Marco's story I was completely hooked. Their relationship - both past and present - is honest and realistic, making them that much easier to believe in. Hannah has the same thoughts any twenties girl has, while Marco is the kind of caring, thoughtful guy we could all do with knowing. Obviously they have their ups and downs like any couple does, but they do their best to overcome any obstacles and be the best versions of themselves.

Fall From India Place is fairly straightforward when it comes to its story, but how it all plays out has made it a stand-out title in my NA library. Hannah and Marco had a thing when they were younger and in school, until Marco suddenly left, leaving Hannah heartbroken. Five years later he's back on the scene and, whether by fate or chance, the two are reunited and all seems to be going well. That is until new secrets and lies come to light and threaten to once again tear them apart. I'm sure this has all been done before - in fact, I'm sure I've read similar - but Samantha Young has taken a simple thread and made it intricate and complicated, just like real life actually is. There's more drama here than perhaps an average relationship ever sees, but it's not far from the realms of possibility and could quite easily be happening to my friends and relatives.

As characters, Hannah and Marco are both likeable. They each have their flaws and problems, but they suit each other and connect in ways neither of them ever imagined. It's clear that their five years apart has made a big difference, both in terms of new found maturity and life experience, and seeing each other again reignites a passion that has always been there but has laid dormant in the interim. And wow do these two have passion!

Fall From India Place took me a good few chapters to get into, mostly because I wasn't sure of the writing. It seemed to start off quite rickety and all over the place, but suddenly something clicked and the whole book dragged me in. From that point on it was a quick read for me as I was eager to know how everything would work out for Hannah and Marco. It just goes to show that persevering with a problematic start to a book is worthwhile, because that's how new favourites are found.

Although Fall From India Place isn't the best NA book I've read, it's a really great read and one that I immediately recommended to a handful of friends. I now get the hype surrounding Samantha Young and her On Dublin Street series and I urge any NA/adult readers to pick this one up. I'm looking forward to reading the previous three novels in the series and finding out more about Hannah's family, who are all featured in this fourth instalment. I'm sure I've missed a lot and I'm excited to fill in the blanks!


~


 [Click to enlarge]

1 comment:

Daisy Chain Book Reviews said...

I'm reading this one now and enjoying it so far. You should definitely read the other books in this series to get to know the other characters. On Dublin Street (1st book) is still my fave!