Friday, 26 September 2014

Review: Archie Greene and the Magician's Secret by D. D. Everest

Publisher: Faber and Faber
Format: Hardcover / eBook
Released: September 4th, 2014
Rating: 8.5/10

Amazon summary:

Archie Green receives a mysterious present on his birthday. Deep within an ancient wooden box he finds an old book, written in a language he doesn't recognise. With the book comes a Special Instruction - Archie must travel to Oxford to return the book to the Museum of Magical Miscellany. Soon Archie will meet family that he never knew he had, and discover the world of the Flame Keepers - a community devoted to finding and preserving magical books. But the magical book under Archie's protection is dangerous, and dark spirits hunt it out. With the help of his cousins, Archie must do everything he can to uncover the book's hidden powers and save the Flame Keepers from evil. Welcome to a wonderful, magical world where bookshelves are enchanted, librarians are sorcerers and spells come to life. 


Archie Greene and the Magician's Secret is an excellent middle grade fantasy book absolutely perfect for fans of Harry Potter. It contains everything you could want, from talking books to powerful magicians to eight-foot high gryphons. I loved every page of it and am already excited for the sequel - Archie Greene is my new hero!

When Archie Greene turns twelve, a mysterious parcel arrives for him containing an old book and a scroll carrying a special instruction. He's quickly thrown headfirst into a family lineage full of magic and secrets, and soon Archie and his newfound cousins are at the very centre of a magical attack that could end good magic for ever. Sounds familiar? It will do, but believe me, it's very different to that famous boy wizard everyone loves - different, and almost as fun!

I like anything even remotely connected to magic, magicians, prophecies and magical creatures, and Archie Greene is exactly what I've been looking for. It's fast-paced, exciting and utterly enthralling right from the very first page; I honestly couldn't put it down and was even late getting off a train because I wanted to finish my chapter. I know boy wizards and magic-wielding children have been written to death in recent years, but Archie Greene and the Magician's Secret is the standout book as far as I'm concerned. Kids will LOVE it!

D. D. Everest has created a wonderful world with all kinds of exciting goings on, many centred around books and their contents in The Museum of Magical Miscellany. Books can fly, they can talk, and they're so central to the story that it's like a love letter to them. There's also lots of interesting mythology that Archie Greene slowly uncovers, dating as far back as Alexander the Great. Could this book be any better?!

Archie Greene and the Magician's Secret is such a fantastic book and I really hope it gets the readership it deserves. Anyone who just wants a good, intelligent children's fantasy novel will find everything they're looking for here, and are seriously in for a treat when they open the first page. I for one can't wait for Archie's next magical adventure and I hope it lives up to my high expectations!


Becky Scott said...

This sounds great. A definite must buy for the library. Thanks for the recommendation.

Seraphina Vartouhi said...

Now that's a book I would love to devour because it's fun to find a classic styled Fantasy for children. I am glad you have liked it...