Monday, 13 October 2014

Review: Dirty Bertie - Horror! by Alan MacDonald and David Roberts


Publisher: Stripes Publishing
Format: Paperback
Released: October 6th, 2014
Rating: 8.5/10


Amazon summary:

With ever-increasing madcap schemes and crazy capers, Bertie continues to delight his legions of fans who revel in his revolting ways. In Horror! join Bertie as he sneaks into a scary film, meets a bad-tempered guard dog on his paper round and ruins a priceless work of art on a school trip! 

Review:

Dirty Bertie is back just in time for Halloween with another compilation of funny, mischievous antics. Horror! includes three stories: Horror!, about a particularly traumatic trip to the cinema; Splodge!, which sees Bertie get into a sticky situation with a famous painting; and Grrr!, a story that shows why little children shouldn't deliver newspapers!

I enjoyed each story in this book, but my favourite is Splodge!. It's so like naughty little Bertie to put a priceless painting in danger, and his ingenious method of rectifying the situation really made me chuckle. Bertie has a great outlook on life and loves having fun, and that's why I love his character. He's a little boy with big ideas, most of which get him in trouble, but he never lets that stop him!

Horror! is the best Dirty Bertie book I've read so far and I can't wait to read more. Obviously this series of books is perfect for readers of Horrid Henry, though personally I prefer Dirty Bertie and his harebrained schemes. There's never a dull moment when Bertie is around!

No comments: